Welcome former students, administration, coaches, teachers and friends of Ackerman High School!

Mark you calendars for Saturday, April 25, 2020, 2:00 p.m., and join us for the next Ackerman School Reunion. We will meet at the Ty Cobb complex on the Choctaw County High School Campus (formerly AHS campus). Registration opens at 12 noon.

Join Ackerman School Reunion on Facebook.

2003 Reunion

The reunion of Ackerman High School former students, graduates, faculty, administration and friends met at 2:00 p.m., on Saturday April 26, 2003, with 202 members present. Alumni returned to the AHS campus from 12 different states; spanning New Hampshire to California and Pennsylvania to Florida.

The oldest male attending was Walter Ray - a young 91. The oldest female was Louise Staples from Greenville, who is just a spring chicken at 90-years-old.

The annual AHS Reunion event was started in 1998 by AHS Class of 1947 Alumnus, Marion Smith, as time for alumni to reminisce and renew friendships with former classmates and reconnect with current needs and goals of the school.

The program was under the leadership of AHS 1953 graduate and 2003 Reunion President Jim Covington of Santa Rosa, California. The Reverend Curtis Guess opened the meeting with prayer and President Jim Covington made his opening comments.

AHS alumnus and vocalist Dr. Kathy King, accompanied by former AHS faculty member Madeline Wood, began the program with a rousing rendition of The National Anthem. This was followed by The Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag, led by 1954 alumnus and 2003 Reunion Vice President Kenneth Smith of Flowood, Mississippi. AHS Principal Ronnie Ware updated the group on the outstanding scholastic and extra-curricular accomplishments of current students.

A special treat this year was the attendance of two former coaches and wives who also served AHS as faculty and administration – Parker & Jane Dykes and Paul & Brenda Pounds. Former football coach Parker Dykes and junior high teacher Jane Dykes served AHS in the 1969-70 era. Coach Dykes is now in his 12th year as head football coach at Jones County (MS) Community College. Former football/baseball coach Paul Pounds and administrative secretary Brenda Pounds served AHS in the 1963-65 era. They currently own and operate a B&B in Columbia, Mississippi, and Paul is Director of the Exposition Center and Recreation for the city.

The meeting adjourned at 3:30 p.m., allowing everyone to tour the campus and attend parties throughout the county.

The following classmates were named as having deceased during the past year; Helen Burdine (60), Hamp Gaston(64), Phillip Boggan, Jim Null, Janice Faye Whitten Skeens (52), Jackie Sullivan (51), Frank Partica (66), Billy Weaver (61), Newt Stephenson, Sam Collier (48), Letha Carr McMinn (28), William Wright Hamilton (44), Dale Burney (65), Willie Ethel Gregory (32), and Ethel Brunt.

Class with the highest attendance - 1953 with 27 members present.

Recognition of teachers present:

Madeline Wood
Paul & Brenda Pounds
Parker & Jane Dykes
Marion Kelly
Joyce Erwin Vaughn
Clara Williams
Jimmie Henderson
Martha Kilpatrick Stark
Everett Adams
Betty Sue Adams
June McNeal
Ty Cobb

Recognition of classes having reunions this year:

47 Club: Bobby Gene & Mary Lou Cooper
Class of 44: Lake Tiak-Okhata
Class of 50: Fentress
Class of 69: Pap's Fish House
Class of 54: Lake Tiak-Okhata
Class of 57: Choctaw Lake Picnic Shelter

A financial report was given by Secretary/Treasurer Buddy Smith.

An election of officers was held for 2003-04:

President - Kenneth Smith
Vice President - Don Porter
Secretary/Treasurer - Buddy Smith

No comments:

Post a Comment